EducatiONAL Excellence Begins with Each Teacher



Dr. David Benson Teacher of the Year Awards
In 2004, BVEF created outstanding teacher awards to honor retiring Blue Valley Superintendent Dr. David Benson. The awards were expanded in 2010 to include the Blue Valley NEA Master Teachers of the Year and the district's Kansas Master Teacher of the Year finalists. Since 2005, Commerce Bank has generously funded these awards, which provide $1,250 to each recipient to fund classroom projects or programs.

2017 Recipients
Lyn Morton - Blue River Elementary

Dr. Laura Restivo - Blue Valley West High

Cade Chace - Sunrise Point Elementary

John Butcher - Blue Valley Northwest High

Past awards recipients

Innovative Educator of the Year Awards
Blue Valley parents Ken Selzer and Deb Grimes created this annual award to support and honor classroom educators using innovative and creative teaching practices. In 2014, this award was expanded to honor two recipients, each of whom receives $1,250 to support programs or projects in their classroom or school.

2017 Recipients
Heather Weinstein - Timber Creek Elementary

Amanda Adkins - Lakewood Middle

Past awards recipients

Teacher of the year.jpg